Outcome BIG's Executive Board elections

Intro text: 

- Press release Monday 4 June 2018 -

Following BIG’s General Assembly (GA), which took place on Sunday 3 June 2018 during the annual ASCO meeting in Chicago, we are very happy to announce the outcome of the BIG Executive Board (EB) elections:

  • Dr Carlos Barrios, Dr Philippe Bedard, Dr Etienne Brain, Dr Eva Carrasco and Dr Nick Turner have been elected as new EB members
  • Dr David Cameron, Dr Angelo Di Leo and Dr Sybille Loibl will continue for an additional term

They are joining EB members Prof Judith Bliss, Dr Boon Chua, Dr Marco Colleoni, Dr Barbro Linderholm, Dr Shinji Ohno, Dr Aleix Prat and Dr Ander Urruticoechea, who were elected last year.

It is this new full EB that, in the coming months, will deliberate and take decisions about the new officers, including the new Chair of BIG and proposals for continued involvement of the outgoing BIG EB members in some BIG activities. Dr Martine Piccart, co-founder of BIG and outgoing chair, will serve as immediate past-chair and take on an even more prominent role in BIG’s fundraising activities.

We wish to extend our sincere gratitude to the leaving EB members that have devoted their time to BIG in the past and have contributed to the organisation’s growth and global breast cancer research. A BIG Thank You to Dr Karen Gelmon, Dr Michael Gnant, Dr Fabrice André, and Dr José Baselga. We wish them luck in all their future endeavours!

According to BIG’s current statutes, EB members serve mandates of four years, but may be re-elected for an additional term. During any given election, the GA participates in a direct election from among the candidates to fill half of the seats, and the EB appoints the remainder.

BIG’s EB represents the new leadership and the main scientific and decision-making authority of the organisation. It aims to reflect the geographical extent of the network, as well as the broad range of expertise among its members; such as medical oncology, gynaecological oncology, surgical oncology, radiation oncology, biostatistics, clinical trials methodology, translational research and business.

One of the most important roles of BIG’s Executive Board, beyond ensuring good governance of the association, is to ensure that clinical trials and research programmes under the BIG umbrella are conducted to the highest quality standards and meet the organisation’s principles of research conduct.

In summary, as of 3 June 2018, the following world-class breast cancer specialists are on BIG’s EB:

  • Martine Piccart-Gebhart (co-founder of BIG and immediate past-chair), Oncologist - IJB (Institut Jules Bordet)
  • Carlos Barrios, Oncologist - LACOG (Latin American Cooperative Oncology Group)
  • Philippe Bedard, Oncologist - CCTG (Canadian Cancer Trials Group)
  • Judith Bliss, Biostatistician - ICR-CTSU (The Institute of Cancer Research, Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit)
  • Etienne Brain, Oncologist, with focus on Older Patients - EORTC BCG (European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer, Breast Cancer Group)
  • David Cameron, Oncologist - EORTC BCG (European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer, Breast Cancer Group)
  • Eva Carrasco, Oncologist, GEICAM (Spanish Breast Cancer Group)
  • Boon Chua, Radiation oncologist - TROG & BCT-ANZ (Trans Tasman Radiation Oncology Group, Breast Cancer Trials Australia and New Zealand)
  • Marco Colleoni, Oncologist - IBCSG (International Breast Cancer Study Group)
  • Angelo Di Leo, Oncologist - IBCSG (International Breast Cancer Study Group)
  • Barbro Linderholm, Oncologist - SABO (Swedish Association of Breast Oncologists)
  • Sibylle Loibl, Gynaecologist - GBG (German Breast Group)
  • Shinji Ohno, Surgeon - JBCRG (Japan Breast Cancer Research Group)
  • Aleix Prat, Oncologist - SOLTI (Breast Cancer Research Group)
  • Nick Turner, Oncologist - NCRI BCSG / ICR-CTSU (National Cancer Research Institute - Breast Cancer Clinical Studies Group, The Institute of Cancer Research, Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit)
  • Ander Urruticoechea, Oncologist - GEICAM (Spanish Breast Cancer Group)