La biologie du cancer du sein masculin abordée au SABCS 2022

Male chest representing male breast cancer

Share This Post

On 7 December, a spotlight poster discussion on male breast cancer, including the work of Danielle Zakon and colleagues, was held at the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium.

Cette présentation portait sur "L'évaluation de l'Indice de Sensibilité à la Thérapie Endocrinienne (SET2,3) dans le Cancer du Sein Masculin Précoce : les Résultats d'une analyse du Programme International sur le Cancer du Sein Masculin 10085/TBCRC/BIG/NABCG d'EORTC".

Le Programme International sur le Cancer du Sein chez l'Homme est une initiative de l'European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) en collaboration avec le Translational Breast Cancer Research Consortium (TBCRC), le National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN) et le Breast International Group (BIG). Le programme a été lancé en 2006 et constitue un effort mondial visant à mieux comprendre les caractéristiques cliniques, la biologie tumorale et les résultats du traitement des hommes atteints de cancer du sein - une population rare, représentant environ 1 % de tous les cas de cancer du sein dans le monde.

Le Programme International sur le Cancer du Sein chez l'Homme se compose de trois parties :

  1. Une collecte rétrospective de données et d'échantillons provenant de 1822 patients masculins atteints de cancer du sein et traités dans 23 centres participants répartis dans 9 pays.
  2. Un registre prospectif de 557 nouveaux cas diagnostiqués pendant une période d'environ 30 mois, avec une collecte centrale de données cliniques et d'échantillons de tumeurs et une période de suivi de 10 ans.
  3. Des études cliniques prospectives pour optimiser la prise en charge de ces patients.

Les parties 1 et 2 ont déjà été réalisées grâce aux efforts inlassables de plusieurs partenaires de recherche, de nombreux organismes de financement et de donateurs individuels.

Dans leurs travaux, le Dr Zakon et ses collègues ont utilisé "l'indice SET 2,3", un biomarqueur d'expression génétique lié aux récepteurs hormonaux (HR), pour analyser les résultats de 321 patients masculins atteints d'un cancer du sein. Ils ont démontré que l'indice SET 2,3 est un facteur pronostique dans ce groupe, de la même façon qu'il avait été identifié pour les femmes. Parmi les patients masculins analysés, 65,7 % présentaient un indice SET 2,3 élevé, , indiquant une activité endocrinienne élevée et un risque de récidive plus faible, tandis que 34,3 % des patients présentaient un indice faible, indiquant une activité endocrinienne faible et un risque de récidive plus élevé. Cela pourrait impliquer que parmi les hommes atteints de cancer du sein, certains patients pourraient bénéficier d'une chimiothérapie supplémentaire en plus du traitement endocrinien. Toutefois, ces résultats doivent être davantage validés.

Depuis la création du Programme International sur le Cancer du Sein chez l'Homme, la recherche collaborative a généré beaucoup d'espoir pour ce groupe de patients, même s'il reste encore beaucoup à faire. Aujourd'hui, nous disposons de connaissances plus approfondies sur les caractéristiques cliniques et biologiques des hommes atteints de cancer du sein.Il existe également une plus grande sensibilisation et un meilleur soutien pour comprendre leurs préférences en matière de traitement. Enfin, les hommes ont désormais plus de possibilités pour participer à des essais cliniques sur le cancer du sein, ce qui ouvre la voie à une meilleure compréhension du cancer du sein dans ce groupe de patients rare, mais tout de même important.

 

Plus d'informations sur les liens suivants:

https://doi.org/10.1093/annonc/mdx651 – Annals of Oncology 2018

https://doi.org/10.1038/s41523-021-00301-0https://rdcu.be/c1gaU – NPJ Breast 2021

 

 

 

More to explore

Results of PALLAS published in The Lancet Oncology
Nouvelles

Results of PALLAS

Results of the second interim analysis of the PALLAS study have just been published online in The Lancet Oncology.

Biology of Male Breast Cancer tackled at SABCS 2022

Male chest representing male breast cancer

Share This Post

On 7 December, a spotlight poster discussion on male breast cancer, including the work of Danielle Zakon and colleagues, was held at the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium.

This poster reported on the “Evaluation of the Sensitivity to Endocrine Therapy Index (SET2,3) in Early Male Breast Cancer: Results from an analysis in the EORTC 10085/TBCRC/BIG/NABCG International Male Breast Cancer Programme”.

The International Male Breast Cancer Programme is a collaborative initiative of the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) in collaboration with the Translational Breast Cancer Research Consortium (TBCRC), the National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN) and the Breast International Group (BIG). The programme was launched in 2006 and is a global effort aiming to better understand the clinical characteristics, tumour biology, and treatment outcomes of male patients with breast cancer- a rare population, representing around 1% of all breast cancer cases globally.

The International Male Breast Cancer Programme consists of three parts:

  1. A retrospective collection of data and samples from 1822 male patients with breast cancer treated in 23 participating centres across 9 countries.
  2. A prospective registry of 557 newly diagnosed cases during a period of approximately 30 months, with central collection of clinical data and tumour samples and follow up period of 10 years.
  3. Prospective clinical studies to optimize the management of these patients.

Parts 1 and 2 have already been completed thanks to the tireless efforts of several research partners, many funding organisations, and individual donors.

In the work by Dr Zakon and colleagues, they used the “SET 2,3 index” which is a hormone receptor (HR)-related gene expression biomarker to analyse the outcomes of 321 male patients with breast cancer. They showed that the SET 2,3 index is prognostic in this group, similar to prior findings among female patients. Of the male patients analysed, 65.7% had a high SET 2,3 index, indicating high endocrine activity and a lower risk of recurrence, while 34.3% patients had a low index, indicating low endocrine activity and a higher risk of recurrence. This might imply that among male patients with breast cancer, selected patients might benefit from additional chemotherapy in addition to endocrine therapy. However, these findings need further validation.

Since the inception of the International Male Breast Cancer Programme, collaborative research has generated much hope for this group of patients, although much work still needs to be done. Today, we have deeper knowledge of the clinical and biological characteristics of male patients with breast cancer. There is also greater awareness and support for understanding their treatment preferences. Finally, there are now more opportunities for male patients to participate in breast cancer trials, opening avenues for gaining a greater understanding of breast cancer in this rare, yet important patient group.

 

More information on the following links:

https://doi.org/10.1093/annonc/mdx651 – Annals of Oncology 2018

https://doi.org/10.1038/s41523-021-00301-0https://rdcu.be/c1gaU – NPJ Breast 2021

 

 

 

More to explore

20km of Brussels with BIG against breast cancer
News

20 years of research, 20km of Brussels

Over one hundred participants ran for BIG against breast cancer. On the occasion of its 20th anniversary this year, the international association BIG against breast

Breast Cancer Awareness Month 2019

This year BIG is celebrating its 20th anniversary. What better time than the month of October to spread our message of hope and progress? Linked to thousands of hospitals